Planning Awards shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the second annual Planning Awards has been announced, following a day-long judging session in central London last month.

At the end of last month, 22 expert judges gathered in London to judge the second annual Planning Awards.

The awards recognise excellence by all players in the planning system, such as local authorities, consultants, developers, lawyers and neighbourhood groups.

This year’s shortlisted entries are:

Award for Strategic Planning

- Aberdeen City Centre Masterplan and Delivery Strategy, BDP
- Guildford Town Centre Vision, submitted by Allies and Morrison
- Planning for the Future Core Strategy and Urban Core Plan, Newcastle City Council & Gateshead Council
- The Plymouth Plan, Plymouth City Council
- Riverside Walk Enhancement Strategy, City of London Corporation

Award for Neighbourhood Planning

To be announced on the evening

Award for stakeholder engagement in planning

- Aberdeen City Centre Masterplan and Delivery Strategy, BDP
- Barbican and Golden Lane Area Strategy Review, City of London Corporation
- CMK Business Neighbourhood Plan - the Alliance Plan, CMK Town Council
- The Community Partnership Board, Hunter Page Planning
- Drayton: working with the community, WYG
- Local Dialogue - Bringing Sainsbury's to Ambleside, Local Dialogue

Award for Infrastructure Planning 

Sponsored by Burges Salmon

- Kirkstall Forge, Commercial Estates Group
- Refurbishment of Manchester Victoria Station, Network Rail
- Thames Tideway Tunnel, Thames Water
Award for Planning for Housing Growth (Schemes of More than 1,250 homes)
Sponsored by H4 Group
- Limebrook Park, Commercial Estates Group
- North East of Leicester Sustainable Urban Extension (NEoL SUE), Commercial Estates Group
- Northstowe, Terence O'Rourke
- North West Cambridge Development, University of Cambridge
- No Use Empty, Kent County Council

Award for Planning for Housing Growth (1,250 homes Or Fewer)

Sponsored by H4 Group

- Blackwall Reach Regeneration Project, Swan Housing Association
- Housing Growth through Permitted Developments, Inspired Asset Management
- Land North West of Evans Close, Fowler Architecture and Planning
- Oakgrove, Milton Keynes, Gardner Stewart Architects
- Saltash, Commercial Estates Group

Award for Planning for Economic Growth

- River Taff Central Link, College Plaza and Penderyn Square, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
- Junction 21 Enterprise Area, North Somerset Council
- Milton Park Local Development Order, Terence O'Rourke
- Pro-active planning driving sustainable economic growth and investment in Thurrock - Thames Enterprise Park case study, Thurrock Council

Site Allocation of the Year

To be announced on the night

Award for Waste and Minerals Planning

- East Pit/Rhosaman Regeneration Masterplan, SLR Consulting
- The Ecological Enhancement of RSPB Cliffe Pools, WYG
- West London Waste Plan (London Boroughs of Brent, Ealing, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow and Richmond upon Thames, and the Old Oak Park Royal Development Corporation), West London Waste Plan

Award for Planning for the Environment

- Lincolnshire Lakes, Lucent Group
- Stratland Estates working in partnership with nature at Oxlease Farm, Stratland Estates
- Watford Parade, BDP
Award for Making Development Viable
- Baylis Old School, Henley Homes plc
- Draft Development Viability Supplementary Planning Document, Islington Council
- Northamptonshire Revolving Infrastructure Fund: A45 Daventry Development Link, Northamptonshire County Council

Planning Law Firm of the Year

Sponsored by CGMS

- Clyde & Co
- K&L Gates LLP
- Osborne Clarke
- Pinsent Masons LLP
- Trowers & Hamlins LLP
- Wragge Lawrence Graham & Co
- Zyda Law

Award for Planning Consultancy of the Year

Sponsored by Thorncliffe

- HOW Planning
- Rural Solutions
- Terence O'Rourke

Local Authority Team of the Year

Sponsored by The Planning Officers Society

- Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
- Newcastle City Council & Gateshead Council
- Plymouth City Council
- Southend on Sea Borough Council
- Thurrock Council

Best Workplace

We are proud to be co-owners, Turley

Planning Permission of the Year

- The Sill National Landscape Discovery Centre, Cundall
- Lincolnshire Lakes, Lucent Group
- Gloucestershire Gateway Motorway Service Area (now branded Gloucester Services), Pegasus Planning Group
- Stratland Estates working in partnership with nature at Oxlease Farm, Stratland Estates

Enforcement Award

To be announced on the night

The awards ceremony will take place at the Royal Society of Medicine in central London on 17 November at 6.45pm.

For more information or to book your place, please visit or contact Kate Collins on (tel) 020 8267 8188 or (email)

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in

Join the conversation with PlanningResource on social media

Follow Us:
Planning Jobs