Pick of the planners

As we announce the shortlisted entries for this year's inaugural Planning awards, there is still time to reserve your place at the ceremony. Richard Garlick reviews the judging process.

Earlier this month, 24 expert judges gathered in London to judge the inaugural Planning Awards.

The awards were set up to recognise excellence by all players in the planning system, such as local authorities, consultants, developers, lawyers and neighbourhood groups.

The panel comprised a range of planning experts in areas including housebuilding, neighbourhood planning, design, public participation, law, economic development, viability, strategic planning, archaeology, conservation, enforcement and environment.

Judges were allocated to categories by expertise. They looked for evidence that entries had improved or were likely to improve the physical or environmental quality of a place or the economic or social well-being of a community.

They also checked that certain requirements had been met for each category. Extra marks were given for originality, the potential for long-term impact, community involvement and value for money or financial viability.

Judges were sent the entries ahead of the meeting, so that they could study them in advance. Panel members did not adjudicate in any category in which their employer had entered, and were also required to abstain from scoring any entry on which they or their employer had been involved.

Discussions were not complete until late in the afternoon, when the last category panel submitted its scoresheets. Judges also highlighted any further research that they considered necessary. Those shortlisted can take pride in the fact that their entries have come through a process of close scrutiny.

Many thanks to our judges, as well as our sponsors CGMS Consulting, Border Archaeology, Thorncliffe and Locality.

The full awards shortlist can be read here.


Peter Andrew, Taylor Wimpey
Margaret Baddeley, Nathaniel Lichfield and Partners
Chris Bowden, Navigus Planning
Phil Crabtree, Leeds City Council
Emma Critchley, Locality
Claire Dutch, Hogan Lovells
Richard Garlick, Planning (chair)
Gary Halman, HOW Planning
Colin Haylock, Haylock Planning and Design
Stephen Hill, HCA
Mike Holmes, Bournemouth Borough Council
Cristina Howick, Peter Brett Associates
Mike Kiely, Planning Officers Society
Gilian MacInnes, Planning Advisory Service
Stewart Murray, Greater London Authority
Richard Patient, Thorncliffe
Roy Pinnock, Dentons
Anna Rose, Rugby Borough Council
Neil Shurety, Border Archaeology
Phillipa Silcock, Planning Advisory Service
Matthew Spry, Nathaniel Lichfield and Partners
Mike Straw CGMS
Stephen Tapper, Planning Officers Society
Andrew Whitaker, Home Builders Federation
Lonek Wojtulewicz, Historic and Natural Environment, Leicestershire County Council

Reserve your places

The awards ceremony will take place at 1 Wimpole Street, London W1 on Tuesday 18 November 2014. For more information or to book your place, please visit www.planningawards.com or contact Melanie Sawbridge on (tel) 020 8267 4161 or (email) Melanie.Sawbridge@haymarket.com.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in

Join the conversation with PlanningResource on social media

Follow Us:
Planning Jobs