Shortlist for inaugural Planning Awards announced

The shortlist for the inaugural Planning Awards has been announced, following a day-long judging session in central London last week.

Royal Albert Docks: in the running for Planning Permission of the Year award
Royal Albert Docks: in the running for Planning Permission of the Year award

The shortlisted entries are:

Award for Infrastructure Planning

Upgrade of Woolston Wastewater Treatment Works, submitted by Adams Hendry Consulting

Station Redevelopment Schemes (Nationwide), Network Rail

LSTF Pedestrian & Cycle Bridge, Reading, Peter Brett Associates LLP

South Northamptonshire - Unlocking Investment Through Infrastructure, South Northamptonshire Council

Award for Neighbourhood Planning/ Public Participation in Planning, sponsored by Locality

Winsford Neighbourhood Plan, submitted by Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design

RSRL - Winfrith; What next after nuclear? A community decides, Local Dialogue

Southall Opportunity Area Planning Framework, London Borough of Ealing

Winslow Neighbourhood Plan, Winslow Town Council

Award for Planning Consultancy of the Year, sponsored by Thorncliffe


Deloitte Real Estate

Hunter Page Planning

Terence O'Rourke

Award for Planning for Economic Growth

Royal Albert Dock, Farrells

Southall Opportunity Area Planning Framework, London Borough of Ealing

Talbot Gateway Central Business District, Blackpool, Muse Developments

Hitachi Capital Commercial Vehicle Services - new campus, Nash Partnership

Thorpe Park, Leeds Zerum Ltd and Peter Brett Associates LLP

South Northamptonshire - Preserving What's Special Through Sustainable Economic growth, South Northamptonshire Council

Award for Planning for Housing Growth

Barton Park, AECOM

NW Bicester, Barton Willmore, A2Dominion & Farrells

Advisory Team for Large Applications, Homes and Communities Agency

 St. Johns Hill, Clapham, Indigo Planning

Nine Elms on the South Bank Nine Elms on the South Bank

One Woolwich, Peter Brett Associates LLP

Rugby Radio Station, Rugby Radio Station Limited Partnership, Urban & Civic, Rugby Borough Council, David Lock Associates, Mills & Reeve, Wragges

Award for Planning for the Environment

More From Trees: The Mersey Forest Plan, The Mersey Forest

Lymington Salt Marsh Regeneration, Lymington Harbour Commissioners

Surf Snowdonia Dolgarrog, NJL Consulting

Award for Strategic Planning

The Avenue Area Strategic Framework, Atkins and URS for HCA

Whitechapel Vision Supplementary Planning Document, BDP

Birmingham Curzon HS2 - Masterplan for Growth, Birmingham City Council

Marine planning for our seas, Marine Management Organisation

Paisley Town Centre Asset Strategy, SLR Consulting

London Southend Airport and Environs Joint Area Action Plan, Southend Borough Council and Rochford District Council

Award for Waste and Minerals Planning

Joint Merseyside Waste Local Plan, Merseyside Environmental Advisory Service

Planning for the first British metal mine in 45 years, Stephens Scown LLP


Development Management Team of the Year

Southend Development Management Team, Southend on Sea Borough Council

Thurrock Development Management, Thurrock Council


Enforcement Award

Joint Regulatory Project - Problem Properties, Dudley MBC

Crown and Shuttle Public House, Shoreditch High Street, London Borough of Hackney

Rogue Landlord and Community Safety Project, London Borough of Hounslow

Planning Law Firm of the Year, sponsored by CGMS

Mills & Reeve


Pinsent Masons LLP

Sharpe Pritchard LLP


Planning Permission of the Year, sponsored by Border Archaeology

Royal Albert Dock, Farrells

Wellesley, Aldershot, Grainger

Morley Green, Ampfield, Pegasus Planning Group

Dollis Valley Estate Regeneration, Terence O'Rourke

Thurrock's LDO at London Gateway, Thurrock Council

Brentford Community Stadium, Planning Perspectives


Planning Policy Team of the Year

Spatial Planning - London Borough of Croydon, London Borough of Croydon

Beyond the Development Plan - Using the full range of plan-making powers to secure local outcomes, London Borough of Islington

Southall Opportunity Area Planning Framework, London Borough of Ealing.

Entries in the following categories are being judged separately: site allocation of the year, award for making development viable, best practice in career development. There will also be the Planning Editor's award, awarded by the editor to the overall entry judged to the best.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at 1 Wimpole Street, London on the evening of 18 November. For more information, and details of how to book tickets, click here.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in

Join the conversation with PlanningResource on social media

Follow Us:
Planning Jobs