Team set for shadow jobs

Former planning minister Caroline Flint has been given the position of shadow secretary of state for communities and local government.

The full shadow DCLG team includes Alison Seabeck, Barbara Keeley, Jack Dromey and Chris Williamson. Details of individual briefs have yet be revealed.

Seabeck worked as Nick Raynsford's adviser for 13 years. She entered parliament in 2005. Dromey is MP for Birmingham Erdington and a trade unionist.

Flint provoked controversy in her role when she was spotted walking into Downing Street carrying briefing papers which revealed grim forecasts for the future of house prices.

She resigned after the Cabinet reshuffle of June 2009, claiming that she had been treated as "female window dressing".

Other appointments include Meg Hillier as shadow secretary for energy and climate change and Maria Eagle as shadow secretary for transport. Tessa Jowell is named as shadow minister for the 2012 Olympics.

Former communities secretary John Denham has become shadow secretary of state for business, innovation and skills, while former housing and planning minister John Healey becomes shadow secretary of state for health.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in

Join the conversation with PlanningResource on social media

Follow Us:
Planning Jobs